Random Cravings

Do you ever get the random craving… you know the ones. The “I can’t sleep until this craving is satisfied” cravings. Last night I put K to bed after what felt like a really long and snotty day, it is flu season after all, and had the overwhelming desire for a sweet treat. I wasn’t sure what exactly I felt like eating until I searched some mug cake ideas on Pinterest. I love my mug cakes (I’m not big on sharing my cakes if I don’t have to either).

donutmug

Anyway, so I found a “jam donut” mug cake… and oh my universe did it look delicious. I didn’t have all the ingredients though *mental tantrum here* so I sussed out what I could improvise with. I decided I’d substitute the almond meal with just some plain flour (because I know very few people who don’t at least have that in their house), and I’d sub most of the sugar with blackstrap molasses (I shouldn’t be too naughty with my cakes because I have my wedding coming up in August). I also substitute the flax egg for roughly a teaspoon on cornflour and 1-2 tablespoons of water, this is what I used in pretty much all baking where an egg is required.

So once the batter was made, I made my “jam” by mashing up 5 strawberries, I could have used half this though as I didn’t end up putting it all in, and added some more molasses and combined. Added half the batter to a lightly greased mug, followed by the jam and then batter to top off and popped it into the microwave for a minute (another reason I  seriously love mug cakes… they’re practically instant). Sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon and you have yourself a jam donut cake *licks lips*. Now disclosure, my recipe didn’t really look like the picture, it looked more like a dense muffin. It did however taste beautiful, and more importantly, satisfied my intense craving.

Do you guys enjoy mug cakes? What are some of your favourites?

For those of you keen on trying this yourself, I have put the link below. Let me know how yours turns out and if you modified yours too.

Jam Donut Mug Cake

 

Author: mumof0ne

I'm a mother to a beautiful toddler, and a wife to a very supportive man. I am still a blog newbie, so be kind :P Check out my posts and sign up on the mailing list so you never miss an update! I have linked the blog to Facebook and Twitter accounts for an instant share... but I also have an Instagram account for those interested - www.instagram.com/mumof0ne Follow for updates on new posts and occasional ramblings :P

Leave a Reply

